Author
Topic: New to this collecting stuff.  (Read 4045 times)
Brian
« on: July 09, 2009, 10:32:54 am »

Good day to you all. As the title suggests, I am new to the Canadian paper money collecting.
 Over the years I have put a couple of items away like most other people, but until just recently never really considered collecting. This has changed for me, as I just acquired a Dominion of Canada note. This is a DC-16..1900 issue $4 note that I had not even heard of....never knew one was printed.
 After receiving this item, and a couple of other pieces...I jump around the Internet and found a bit of information about these notes. (mostly from this site). I also went and bought the Charlton Standard Catalogue (21st edition)
 So now it appears I am hooked....just what I need another hobby... LOL.
 Now I am having a bit of a problem with grading a bill. To my way of thinking this DC-16 would be graded VF...but I may be wrong. Maybe someone here could give me some idea as to where I could have it graded? Also how should this bill be stored? Also, should it be registered with any collector organization? 
 In an effort for a help you kind people might be able to give me, I have scanned the item and will try and post it.

Thanks one and all.
friedsquid
  • Very Senior Member
  • CPMS 1593
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 10:39:22 am »

On this site you can check the "WIKI SITE" by selecting the button on the top of the screen to see if there is a registry online for the note.
As for TPG (Third Party Graders) there are some in Canada and in the US depending on where you live one may be easier to submit to than another.
If you do a search on this site for TPG or grading companies you should come up with some of the graders that are availbable and their websites describing what they do and prices etc.
Hope that helps

Some of the Grading companies are
PMG         www.pmgnotes.com
BCS         www.banknotecertification.com
CCCS       www.canadiancoincertification.com