Author
Topic: State of the market  (Read 6898 times)
standeasy
« on: October 04, 2012, 12:40:07 pm »

I recently submitted 35 notes for auction. All were Bank of Canada replacement notes and were certified by BCS.
The auction results , not surprisingly, were as follows--of the notes submitted only 10 notes sold, none of the notes were graded less than UNC 60, they were all protected with a reserve of 50% Charlton and I recovered the unsold notes. The price of the reserved notes ranged in value from a low of $75. to a high of $450. They were all very desirable notes at one time but todaythere seems to be a  lack of interest in this area .
Anyway I was not totally disappointed, I had hoped for better but now I will just put them away and leave them to my family. I have been collecting , buying and selling notes since 1959 and I'm ready to let it go.

Standeasy
CPMS # 557
stashthecash
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2012, 01:22:55 pm »

Unfortunately I too have found the market very slow, but have seen this in the past and suspect in time it will again pick up once people have more disposable cash available.
I do not look at this time as a bad time, but an opportunity to pick up those notes that I may have been unable to pick up at a time when prices were not as flexible as they may be now.
The one thing that I noticed is that most dealers at shows still tend to want big bucks for their stock, and one dealer I recently tried to make a deal with over some 37 issues decided to refuse what I considered a fair offer and told me to basically get lost....I couldn't believe his asking price for the 5 notes was $5600 and my offer was $5400....to me in these times seems more than fair...but I guess that is my opinion.

I have been fortunate enough to pick up some high denomination polymer replacement notes from a dealer in Quebec and a few 54 replacements from a dealer in BC for what I consider good prices.