Author
Topic: washed and pressed  (Read 4240 times)
87Megalodon
« on: March 08, 2010, 10:04:34 pm »

I am just wondering how to tell if a bill has been washed and pressed just by looking at a picture. is it possible to? or do you have to feel it to tell?
I noticed this item on ebay, the inside is white (this is my first time uploading an image hopefully it showed). Is this an indication that the bill has been washed or is it possible that it has just faded away over the years?  Any advice or tips people have on examining bills will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 10:40:37 pm by BWJM »
friedsquid
  • Very Senior Member
  • CPMS 1593
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 10:23:49 pm »

If you have a catlogue read page 214 and you will find some info on the 1937 notes in regards to paper and titanium oxide used as a brightner...
The brightness does not mean it has been washed or pressed

Always looking for #1 serial number notes in any denomination/any series
mmars
  • Very Senior Member
  • money is gregarious
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2010, 10:34:07 pm »

There's no way to tell anything from that particular image because the brightness and contrast are too high.  It's common to see images like this online for two reasons:
- many people don't know how to control brightness and contrast when scanning notes;
- some people use improper scanner settings intentionally to produce images like this for the purpose of hiding imperfections in the paper.

So I cannot answer your question about washed and pressed notes.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 10:35:38 pm by mmars »

No hay banda  
Ottawa
  • Very Senior Member
  • World Paper Money Collector
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2010, 10:23:19 am »

I am just wondering how to tell if a bill has been washed and pressed just by looking at a picture ......