Author
Topic: Grading Notes  (Read 5257 times)
Big_Red
« on: June 11, 2006, 08:44:20 pm »

Hi,

The following is a quote from a current listing on ebay;

"You are considering an UNC- graded 1937 Bank of Canada $2 note with the Gordon & Towers signature combination. The note is completely original and has a single counters diagonal fold in the top right corner area of the note."

According to Charlton grading rules, does a single counting fold not make it almost uncirculated and not UNC?

I only bring this up because the seller has a 100% positive rating from over 800 transactions and I am just an amateur collector.

What do you think?  
BWJM
  • Very Senior Member
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2006, 09:00:05 pm »

Hi,

The following is a quote from a current listing on ebay;

"You are considering an UNC- graded 1937 Bank of Canada $2 note with the Gordon & Towers signature combination. The note is completely original and has a single counters diagonal fold in the top right corner area of the note."

According to Charlton grading rules, does a single counting fold not make it almost uncirculated and not UNC?

I only bring this up because the seller has a 100% positive rating from over 800 transactions and I am just an amateur collector.

What do you think?  
If it has a fold as described, then depending on the severity of it, and any other imperfections, the note could go down as far as EF or worse. If just the fold, definitely AU, possibly EF.

BWJM, F.O.N.A.
Life Member of CPMS, RCNA, ONA, ANA, IBNS, WCS.
President, IBNS Ontario Chapter.
Treasurer, Waterloo Coin Society.
Show Chair, Cambridge Coin Show.
Fellow of the Ontario Numismatic Association.
buxvet
  • Is there anybody in the ceremony is about to begin
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2006, 09:08:05 pm »