Author
Topic: $2 consecutive bills  (Read 3703 times)
ljmcdonald
« on: November 18, 2009, 11:09:20 am »

Hi,
I am looking for some help I am very new to this and short of pulling my hair out from reading. I have 2 and 1 dollar Canadian bills and I am curious as to the value of some of them. I have several bills approximately 250 bills and some have consecutive numbers both the $1(1973) and $2(1986). But specifically I have a set of $2 bills with the following serial numbers on them EGS1025111, EGS1025112, EGS1025115, EGS1025116, EGS1025117, EGS1025118, EGS1025119, EGS1025120, EGS1025121, EGS1025122 all signed by Bonin and Thiessen. I realize that I am missing the 13 and 14 in between which I am trying to locate. They are all in excellent condition is how I would describe them no folds and no rips no marks. Is the value increased considerably if I am able to locate the missing bills? What would be the estimated value of what I do have? And what websites would you recommend I look at on the internet? Anything you could tell me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your time.
BWJM
  • Very Senior Member
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 11:17:09 am »

I'm afraid I'm going to disappoint you, but I feel it's better to give you my honest opinion rather than false hope.

In the mid 1990s when the $2 bill was being discontinued, Canadians across the country hoarded tons of these notes, most in near perfect condition. As a result, there were still well over 100 million $2 bills still outstanding as of Dec 31 2008 (approximately the same amount as the number of $10 bills in circulation). There are even more $1 notes still outstanding.