Author
Topic: How to ship notes  (Read 4324 times)
gradmaoldcash
« on: April 14, 2007, 09:15:07 pm »

Since I am new to this I would like to know what is the best way to ship a note without it becoming damaged. I thought about puting it between 2 stiff pieces of cardboard and UPS it Thanks
jasper
  • Paper Money is art!
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2007, 10:08:36 pm »

Avoid UPS. Unless you want the UPS letter envelope mixed in with the 100lb packages in the UPS truck.  I wish I could find a picture of the CGA graded UNC66 note I bought the seller mailed by UPS 2 day service that got crumpled  :'(.  Since people are now buying the holder and not the note inside, would the VF+ note that is now housed in the crumpled holder that is labelled UNC-66 still qualify as UNC-66 and fetch the same price??? ::)

In short, use the postal system. Much safer from handling letters than UPS/Fedex that handle packages.  I would place in an acetate or mylar holder between two leaves of stiff cardboard. 

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: April 14, 2007, 10:48:22 pm by jasper »
friedsquid
  • Very Senior Member
  • CPMS 1593
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2007, 10:40:01 pm »

Putting the note(s) in a mylar sleeve and placed between two pieces of stiff cardboard is the best.  One thing I can suggest is that when I send a note out I also wrap the entire cardboard with a piece of saran wrap. The reason for this being that if your item goes into a mail box outside or even if it placed somewhere where it could possibly get wet this will save the notes from being ruined.  I had a recent incident  where it worked and the notes where fine.

FRIEDSQUID

Always looking for #1 serial number notes in any denomination/any series
Ottawa
  • Very Senior Member
  • World Paper Money Collector
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2007, 04:36:21 am »