Author
Topic: I found Grandma's Stash, now what?  (Read 4366 times)
StarGehzer
« on: August 03, 2012, 11:34:34 am »

While cleaning up the estate I've found a stack of bills that it appears Grandma was hiding from Grandpa.
It's mostly $20.00 bills with dates from 1954, 1969, and 1979.
I've picked up the Charlton "Canadian Government Paper Money" Catalogue (2009), and done a bit of research, but I realize I'm no expert.
The bills vary in condition from very good to poor.
I have no interest in keeping the bills, I'd like to sell them, but of course, I'd like to get maximum value (with minimal work on my part).
So my questions begin with....
If I went to a (larger) shop in the GTA and asked for a quote, how trustworthy can I expect them to be? (will they in fact even make me an offer?)
Am I likely to get a better price by breaking the collection up and selling it in lots instead of selling the whole pile? (lets say face value is more than $1000.00)
Should I be selling privately instead of to a shop (to get maximum value)?
I'm sure I'll have more questions as I learn more.

Thanks for your help.

walktothewater
  • Very Senior Member
  • Join the Journey
    • Notaphylic Culture
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 05:44:56 pm »