Author
Topic: Who's Buying Silver???  (Read 28750 times)
therealco1986
« on: August 11, 2013, 08:41:28 pm »

Folks,

Silver has fallen quite a bit in the last little while.  When it dipped under $20, I decided to buy about 20oz.  It is my first time buying.  So, I ended up getting it online as my local dealer hadn't responded to my email (I live in Newfoundland so there's only one I know of).  The shipping wasn't bad.  And there wasn't really any extra charge besides the shipping.  I'm told the bank charges a high premium, and they all looked at me with a strange face when I asked about silver.  It seems in Newfoundland, nobody is selling silver bullion...

In any event, I find around twenty an ounce is a reasonable price.  My curiousity is that when spot is $20, people usually add 10% - 15% to this.  So you pay more than spot, because people make money.  If silver hits $40 again, or higher, are people more likely to sell below spot?  Or do they still add a premium?  I imagine that less people are buying when prices are high, so it's harder to sell then, and people would be blowing it out below spot (especially if you are like me and buy when it's less than twenty an ounce).  Does anybody have any thoughts on this for a newbie at collecting silver?

Thanks in advance,

RJB
friedsquid
  • Very Senior Member
  • CPMS 1593
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2013, 09:23:16 pm »

You are always going to pay a premium for silver and that amount will vary by dealer, bank/ or suppliers like Kitco for example ....the amount you buy, the type of silver you buy (ie rounds/maples/bars etc)
Sometimes more recognized names go for more ie Englhart or JM for instance...
Even when silver was at $40 an oz dealers were still charging a premium and there were times when you still couldn't get any...alot has to do with what they paid for what they have in stock....there are a lot of variables ...

Always looking for #1 serial number notes in any denomination/any series
Shylo