Author
Topic: Slight ink transfer effect on grading & Pick Numbers?  (Read 2428 times)
Breanna72
« on: June 21, 2023, 05:22:20 pm »

Hello everyone,

I'm new here (but not a total novice).  I am sorting through my best notes to send 300 for grading at PMG and have a couple of questions I'm hoping someone can answer. 

Can anyone tell me if slight ink transfer on an otherwise flawless polymer note will effect obtaining a grade of Gem UNC 70?

And, when submitting Canadian notes for grading to PMG should I use the "Pick" numbers, or should I use the Charlton Guide Catalogue numbers?  If it's "Pick" where do I find them?

TIA for any input.
walktothewater
  • Very Senior Member
  • Join the Journey
    • Notaphylic Culture
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2023, 08:31:24 am »

Hi there,

Welcome to the CPM forum.

I submitted a Modern bulk lot of 49 World notes (+ 1 Canadian note) to PMG last year. I used Charlton codes (BC-##) & that's how they listed the 1 BoC note I submitted.  If you are going to submit 300 notes you should probably divide your notes into 6 separate submissions.  You could contact them & see if they will accept a 100 at a time. I would also separate your series before 1957 in one 50 lot submission & later series in the Bulk Modern submission. This is b/c they have separate rates for pre-1957 & post 1957. I'm not sure if you've downloaded/printed their PDF submission form but you will see this on the form (& postage/FedEx gets very pricey the larger the lots).  Either way, you should probably contact them since you have such a large submission & they may give you a rate discount (or you could at least ask for one).

Can anyone tell me if slight ink transfer on an otherwise flawless polymer note will effect obtaining a grade of Gem UNC 70?