Author
Topic: Private note grading ruining the hobby?  (Read 63674 times)
rachelsprivates
« on: October 18, 2006, 11:17:16 pm »

justeo
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 06:37:24 am »

2 weeks ago I had the opportunity to see 2 Canadian notes graded by the same company. One was graded Fine 15 and the other AU 55. As the notes were sealed, I tried to grade them with a 100 watt light behind the holders.

My opinion....

Fine 15.....  I would grade this as an Original F+
AU 55........ Washed and pressed, corners rounded, 3 vertical folds and would grade it as Pressed VF

Collectors should always grade notes themselves even with third party grading.

justeo
happy_philosopher
  • Paper Money is Art!
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 10:47:35 am »

I'm not an expert but I'll trust my own grading over a 3rd party's any day!  I've never bought a slabbed note but all the AU55's I see scans of look very sad indeed.

I just feel bad for all the poor collectors paying 40% EXTRA for an UNC64 note when they are really getting something that's not even Unc by canadian numismatic standards. Once everyone goes and gets their AU notes graded as Unc64 and they flood the market, I think it's obvious what will happen to the value of these notes.

Charlton will just have to replace the AU column with Unc 63-64 and the EF column with UNC60 and so on in their next issue.

Unless 3rd party grading actually attracts new collectors into the hobby, all they will do is suck $$ OUT Of the market for Canadian Paper money. Prices will only go as high as collectors are willing to pay and if they are willing to spend their money on grading, that is that much less to go towards the value of the notes themselves.
Hudson A B
  • Very Senior Member
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2006, 12:55:38 pm »

Agreed.

CPMS Lifetime Member #1502.
twoinvallarta
  • Paper Money is Art!
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2006, 01:21:14 pm »

I certainly see both sides.