Author
Topic: 1986 $5 banknotes - serial numbers  (Read 5823 times)
KashKitty
« on: February 21, 2012, 02:01:03 pm »

I am very new to Canadian Paper Money collecting - have armed myself with the Charlton Catalogue ready to go! I have some questions about my two 1986 $5 banknotes - both are Crow Bouey, with serial numbers ENL and ENC prefixes respectively. And one more - the BPN on both notes are yellow - and I cannot read them, even with a jeweller's loupe. Is there a secret to it?

Thanks so much for any assistance - appreciated!
Bob
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 03:28:28 pm »

They might show up better on a black and white photocopy.

Collecting Canadian since 1955
KashKitty
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2012, 04:16:26 pm »

Thank you for the warp-speed response, Bob - much appreciated. I tried photocopying the banknotes, not helpful. Also peered at them through my camera, set at "close-up" without effect. I'm sure I can find a way . . . . !

My other question was not well-worded - the serial numbers beginning with ENL and ENC - are these significant? I've been studying my Charlton and am still a little confused as to how the numbers work . . .sorry for all the "newbie" questions! I'll stop now - but would appreciate a response concerning the serial number letters. The signators are Coyne-Bouey. Thanks again.
friedsquid
  • Very Senior Member
  • CPMS 1593
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 04:32:07 pm »

My other question was not well-worded - the serial numbers beginning with ENL and ENC - are these significant?
The prefixes ENL and ENC are common both with full runs. Nothing special

The signators are Coyne-Bouey
If you are still referring  to the 1986 notes the signatures are Crow Bouey

sorry for all the "newbie" questions! I'll stop now
This forum looks forward to questions from everyone..how else are you going to learn....we all started as newbies at one time  :) and I doubt there is anyone that knows it all...