Author
Topic: 1971 $10 replacement note *VT??  (Read 14668 times)
london_guy
« on: February 25, 2013, 10:13:56 pm »

I'm new to the note collecting and was wondering if I could get some advice from seasoned collectors.

I have a chance to buy a 1971 Lawson-Bouey replacement $10 bill with the prefix starting *VT.  I have heard that VT/VJ are a little harder to come buy, is this true?  The note is in great shape but has a very very slight crease down the middle which is very hard to see and also which looks like a ink smudge on the white outside border.  I know the crease brings down the value a bit but what about the smudge?

Any help would be greatly appreciated by the Rookie!  Thanks.
mmars
  • Very Senior Member
  • money is gregarious
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 02:40:12 am »

Well, it looks like we blew our chance to help a new collector.  Not sure how I missed this post, but I did, though I wouldn't be alone.

*VT/*VJ were printed in smaller numbers than other replacement prefixes (or so we think!), but they are not really much scarcer.  Not much research into multicolour replacement notes has been done, quite frankly.  Lots of information in the Charlton catalogue about this subject, which is published every year, is actually quite old and not very authoritative.  In fact, I'm trying to kick start some research into the very subject and have not received much help.

Make sure there is an asterisk to the left of the prefix, otherwise it's not a replacement.  I know that sounds like a silly thing to say, but some new collectors are not familiar with that sort of thing.  They might think any note with a VT/VJ prefix is a replacement since there are non-replacement notes with the same prefix.  The asterisk, if present, is part of the prefix.